Non-executive chairman

BA, LLB, DCom(h.c.)

Dr. Christo Wiese was appointed non-executive chairman of Invicta from October 1997 to April 2000 and a non-executive director since April 2000. He was re-appointed as non-executive chairman of Invicta in January 2006, which position he has held to date. He is currently also the chairman of Tradehold Limited, Shoprite Holdings Limited and Brait SE.

Arnold Goldstone


Executive director

BSc(Mech Eng), BCom(Hons), CA(SA)

Arnold was employed as a management consultant at KPMG prior to joining Invicta in January 1990 as financial manager. He was appointed financial director of Invicta in August 1991 and CEO in April 2000. On 1 May 2015, Arnold was succeeded as CEO of the Invicta Group by Charles Walters, from which date he assumed the position of executive deputy chairman of the Invicta board. Effective 1 February 2017, Arnold re-assumed the position of CEO of the Invicta Group.



Independent non-executive director


David joined Trade and Industry Acceptance Corporation Limited in 1971 and was appointed as a director from 1980 to 1984. From 1989 to 2000 he was appointed managing director of Stenham Proprietary Limited. In 1996, he was appointed as non-executive director of Invicta and lead independent director as from 1 April 2014, which position he holds to date. He was also appointed as non-executive director of Bearing Man Limited in 2001 and chairman in 2002 until 2006, when Bearing Man Limited was de-listed from the JSE.



Non-executive director

BA (Value and Policy Studies), LLB, MIEM (Bocconi, Italy)

Adv. Jacob Wiese was appointed as non-executive director of Invicta effective 29 July 2010. He obtained his BA degree after which he worked at Lourensford Wine Estate, assisting in initiating events partnerships. Jacob subsequently obtained his master’s degree in International Economics and Management and completed this degree as a participant in the MBA program. After returning to Lourensford for a brief period, he graduated as a Bachelor of Law student in 2008. In 2009, he completed his pupilage at the Cape Bar and was admitted as an advocate of the High Court on 8 May 2009.



Independent non-executive director

BA, LLB, Certificate Mergers & Acquisitions, LLM (Corporate Law)

Ramani was admitted to practice as attorney, notary public and conveyancer in 1998. She has over 15 years of experience as a director of companies, having served as a non-executive director on the boards of a number of private and public companies. In a private capacity. Ramani has been involved in various business ventures and commercial property developments and also has a particular interest and expertise in corporate governance and is a published author in the field. Ramani was appointed as an independent non-executive director of Invicta effective 20 February 2014.



Non-executive director

Lance was appointed as alternate director to Reg Sherrell on 27 May 2009 and was nominated as non-executive director of Invicta with effect from 29 July 2010, upon the retirement of Reg Sherrell. Lance studied commerce at the University of Cape Town and has been involved in the hospitality and motor trade industries for the past 15 years and is currently also a director and shareholder of the SMG Group (BMW). Lance represented South Africa as a rugby player in the national team in 1994.



Executive director


Craig joined Sappi as management accountant in 1993, Group Five in their commercial development subsidiary in 1996 and was appointed commercial manager in 1997. In 1998, he joined the Invicta Group as financial manager and was appointed as director of CSE Equipment Company in 1999. In 2002, he was appointed as company secretary of Invicta and executive director of the Invicta board on 7 June 2007. Craig was succeeded by Grace Chemaly as company secretary on 1 January 2014 and remains in his current position as financial and commercial director of the Invicta Group.

Tony S


Executive Director

Tony joined JI Case in 1982 and was appointed as branch manager in 1986. He joined CSE Equipment Company in 1989 and was appointed as divisional managing director in 1993 and managing director of the Capital Equipment Group (CEG) in 1998. In September 2006, he was appointed as an alternate director of Invicta and executive director of the board on 7 June 2007.

Rashid Wally


Independent non-executive director

Rashid was appointed as an independent non-executive director of Invicta on 30 July 2013. He has held various senior executive positions with IBM in Africa, Europe, the Middle East and South East Asia, including also Lenovo in Africa. Rashid has over 38 years of experience in the Information Technology sector and was chairman of the board and member of the audit committee of Mango Airlines (SOC) Limited. He resigned from the Mango board during the year having served 10 years in line with the Mango memorandum of incorporation. Rashid is currently chairman of Fastjet PLC, a listed company on the London Stock Exchange AIM Section, and also serves on the audit and risk committee of Fastjet.



Non-executive director


Byron was appointed as CEO of ARB Holdings (JSE listed) in February 2009, tasked with driving the Group’s growth strategy. He was previously the group CEO of Amalgamated Appliance Holdings Limited and a founding shareholder and director of Bridge Capital Group Limited. Byron has 14 years’ financial services and advisory experience with Deloitte & Touche and Bridge Capital. Byron was appointed as CEO of BMG, succeeding Charles Walters effective 1 November 2014, from which date he was also appointed as an executive director on the Invicta board. Effective 31  October  2016, Byron tendered his resignation as CEO of BMG (now the Engineering Solutions Group) and assumed the role of non-executive director of Invicta effective 1 November 2016.